hktphotography

Just another WordPress.com site

SELF-INFLICTED HEAD SHOTS

SELF-INFLICTED HEAD SHOTS

By: Hoan K. Trinh

http://hktphotography.zenfolio.com/

So I figured I could use a couple of new head shots for my photography business as well as a more corporate head shots for my volunteer position as a board member of  The Vietnamese American Community in Connecticut.  Needless to say, I survived these self inflicted head shots.

So if you didn’t know, black dress shirt and dress pants are part of the photographer uniform.   Not sure how this tradition started, but it make it very easy to spot out the official photographer at an event.  When the photographer have an assistant or a second shooter and they both wear black dress shirts and dress pants, it’s pretty obvious that they are a photography team, so it does make things run smoother.   Another explanation that I heard about why photographer like to wear black is that it make it less obvious when the photographer raised the camera for a shot, a trick that work well for street photography apparently.   Regarding the photo itself, did I tell you that I took this myself?  I shot it with the 70-200mm f2.8 lens at 200mm and let just say that the focus was a real pain.   Black and white conversion just to make it look artsy, just what you need in the photography world.

For this image, I went for the “no-nonsense” “get things done” kind of look.  You don’t want to be to artsy when you’re a member of a board.  This is not really the typical tight head shot but I figured I can use this kind of photos if I choose to run for office later on 🙂  How should one caption this photo?  “Hoan K. Trinh, a true leader for the community!”  Something like that?  What do you think?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

